The World is Our Playground: Over the waterfall and through the woods

Our little brood at High Falls State Park in Jackson, GA.

My boys and I  at High Falls State Park in Jackson, GA.

In honor of Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays…affectionately known as THE WEEKEND!!! I am starting my new series, The World is Our Playground.

"wow," was the only thing he said for a moment.....Daddy and I are all smiles.

“wow,” was the only thing he said for a moment…..Daddy and I are all smiles.

 

While From Our House to Yours is dedicated to inviting you into our home and sharing some of the “around the house learning” that we do. And Speak Life is dedicated to sharing inspirational motivation to parents as we all just try and do the best job that we can educating these small humans that have been entrusted to us. Oh and then there’s Voices in my Head that spotlights the amazing, insightful, and inspirational voices that I run into in the blogging world. Today I will begin sharing our many adventures and experiences with all of you!

My husband introduced me to the joys of state parks. My parents are from the city so this was not something that was on our vacation list growing up. Georgia has some of the best state parks. The landscape here is GORGEOUS!

My husband introduced me to the joys of state parks. My parents are from the city so this was not something that was on our vacation list growing up. Georgia has some of the best state parks. The landscape here is GORGEOUS!

I hope the tone of my blog is that learning and education can take place anywhere and that as parents we have a responsibility to do as much, if not more to educate our children than any school, system or government.

Our little explorer had to go down and check things out. "Closer," he kept telling his daddy.

Our little explorer had to go down and check things out. “Closer,” he kept telling his daddy.

With that being said, my husband and I love going, doing and being in different places, with different people, experiencing different things. It’s one of the things I first loved about him. When Carter came along our adventures for two expanded and it’s been great! In our son’s short two, almost three, years with us he has done more than most little people I know. From hiking, to jet skiing, to swimming in lakes, to taking short road trips to small towns and big plane trips to large cities and exploring new worlds, to trying new restaurants, to visiting farms and mountain sides, to sailing on the Gulf Coast….the kids done and seen quite a bit. While we will have to share the pictures with him when he’s older, the results have been rewarding to him, but us as parents as well. Our little guy travels like a champ. He loves getting up to go and stays two steps ahead in search of the next adventure. I love that we are creating this spirit of experience in him.

This trip was full of investigation. Science at its best!

This trip was full of investigation. Science at its best!

Here carter found a small green frog. I was thrilled at his quiet, gentle examination of the creature.

Here Carter found a small green frog. I was thrilled at his quiet, gentle examination of the creature.

Children are naturally curious and if we expound on that by giving them opportunities to interact with life outside of the normal boundaries, the rewards for both of you are limitless.

Daddy checking to see if I noticed that he almost dropped our child...gotta love him.

Daddy checking to see if I noticed that he almost dropped our child…gotta love him.

I hope you enjoy this new series and that it inspires you to get out and learn by doing! Have fun!

IMG_0774 IMG_0780 IMG_0781 IMG_0798 IMG_0794 IMG_0795

 

 

Hands on learning doesn’t get any better than this…….

IMG_0772 IMG_0778 IMG_0788

 

As our waterfall hike comes to an end………..

IMG_0801

 

We head back towards the car…….thinking of our next adventure….

2 thoughts on “The World is Our Playground: Over the waterfall and through the woods

Leave a Reply

